Three Men, Three Movies

What are three movies that had a big impact on you? And why?


A.M. Settineri, 30

1. The Man Who Would Be King (1975)
2. The Searchers (1956)
3. Jeremiah Johnson (1972)

Why?The Man Who Would Be King is about adventure and aiming high. The Searchers is about responsibility. And Jeremiah Johnson is about being tough, honest, and kind. Which is what The Searchers is about too. Maybe instead of The Searchers, you can just throw any and all John Wayne movies into that category. I think his movies should be shown in schools as an example of what integrity and responsibility is all about.

David Michael Newstead, 31

1. The Double (2013)
2. Shame (2011)
3. Gattaca (1997)

Why? – It took me a while to come up with this list, the third movie particularly. But I’m pleased with my selections. They’re all amazing films. Great soundtracks. And they had a huge impact on me when I saw them. But their common thread is an outsider perspective. For Gattaca, that’s achieved through highly-stylized science fiction and social commentary. The Double is surreal and absurd and funny, while being so human at the same time. Then, Shame is a drama rated NC-17. It’s not for the faint of heart, but there’s something really important there that makes it worth watching.

John Q. Doe, 55

1. The Lonesome Dove (1989) – NO OTHER ANSWERS GIVEN

Why?Lonesome Dove compares two men whose personalities are almost polar opposites, yet were the truest of friends. Really, no other movies comes to mind. I have a hard time with defending any notion today of what a “real man” is. I find often some woman wants to tell a man what a real man is supposed to be and I get pissed off.

