Watching Question Bridge

By David Michael Newstead.

Question Bridge is a film project discussing black manhood in America. I’d heard of it some time ago, but recently I found a showing nearby and I wanted to check it out. What I found was a small, dark room with benches for viewers and a large screen split into five frames.

Each frame contained an ever-changing assortment of black men, young and old – posing questions, voicing perspectives, and talking about their experience on a wide range of topics like stereotypes, achieving personal progress, and growing up in poverty.

First started in 1996, Question Bridge seems to be a conversation that’s absolutely necessary, but has no endpoint. Likewise, it’s something I’m curious about, but I was only there to listen. It’s not my conversation to have. Maybe listening is a good start though.

DSCF2707.JPG

One thought on “Watching Question Bridge

Comments are closed.