Podcast Recap

By David Michael Newstead.

Earlier this year, I started a podcast and here are a few initial posts for your listening pleasure.

Politics and Social Media – In this podcast, I sit down with social media expert Alan Rosenblatt for an in-depth discussion on the impact of social media in the presidential election and why 2016 might be a watershed year.

Discussing Safe Bars at a Bar – In this podcast, I’m joined by Jessica Raven from Collective Action for Safe Spaces and Lauren Taylor from Defend Yourself to discuss the Safe Bars initiative and the importance of bystander intervention in countering sexual harassment in public. To learn more and to stay up-to-date on certified Safe Bars in the D.C. area, check out the new Safe Bars Website.

Quantified Happy Memory Project – I presented at DC’s Quantified Self Meetup, detailing a project I’ve been working on in my free time. I spent a year creating a list of every happy memory I could think of, then analyzed the information for greater self-knowledge and personal reflection.

The Greek and the Greek American – I sit down with a Greek immigrant and a Greek American to learn about the importance of their connections to Greek culture, different sides of the immigrant experience, and their views on the pivotal issues affecting Greece today.

Podcast: Networking, Professionalism, and Gender – Maria discusses gender differences in networking and professionalism in our nation’s capital.

Listen More Here

